What the Staff at Old Firehouse Books Think You Should Read Now

As part of The Colorado Sun’s literature section – SunLit – we feature staff picks at bookstores statewide. >> Click here for more SunLit

This week’s library: Old Fire Station Books, 232 Walnut St., Fort Collins

oldfirehousebooks.com | @OFirehouseBooks on Twitter, instagram


The love hypothesis

By Ali Hazelwood
berkley
$16.00
September 14, 2021

>> To buy

From the editor: When a fake relationship between scientists meets the irresistible force of attraction, it throws into chaos a woman’s carefully calculated theories about love. As a third-year Ph.D. candidate, Olive Smith does not believe in lasting romantic relationships, but her best friend does, and that is what put her in this situation. Convincing Anh that Olive is in a relationship and on the right path to happily ever after was always going to take more than Jedi sleight of hand: Scientists need proof. So, like any self-respecting biologist, Olive panics and kisses the first man she sees.

D’Andrea, bookseller: Fake dates are my favorite! The nostalgia between the two was so frustrating but, of course, fantastic at the same time. There was a demisexual representative, so if you’re looking for a romance book with ace characters, I can’t recommend it highly enough. I also liked that the story was set in academia and touched on important issues facing women in STEM. Read it in a day basically because I just needed to know what happened.

>> To buy


The last house on Rue Inutile

By Catorina Ward
Tor night fire
$27.99
September 28, 2021

>> To buy

From the publisher: A gripping psychological horror novel that delivers twist after twist, this novel is a shocking exploration of the lengths we will go to to shield ourselves from dark truths. A shocking and immersive read perfect for fans of ‘Gone Girl’ and ‘The Haunting of Hill House’. In a gated house on a dead end street on the edge of Washington’s wild woods lives a family of three: a teenage girl who isn’t allowed out; a man who drinks alone in front of his TV trying to ignore the lapses in his memory; and a house cat who loves to nap and read the Bible. An indescribable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what’s buried among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

D’Andrea, bookseller: Truly one of my favorite manga. The story follows a high school student who wants to get into art school, breaking all previous expectations for him. The considerations of developing your own artistic style and becoming your own person are so heartfelt and beautiful that the anxieties of life are expressed through artistic pieces. The characters are all so unique as artists and people. Highly recommend.

>> To buy


Unfinished

By J.A. Jance
Books Gallery
$27.99
June 1, 2021

>> To buy

From the publisher: In this thrilling and beautifully written thriller from JA Jance, Ali Reynolds’ personal life is turned upside down just as two men appear on the scene: a former employee of her husband’s just released from prison and a serial killer who puts his sights a little too close to home.

From Susie, owner: This is the most recent book in the author’s long-running Ali Reynolds series that began as a blog when Jance was fired because he was “too old” to host the news. Many bestselling books and new characters later, Jance’s heroes attempt to help a former employee who has just been released from prison but may be innocent. That doesn’t mean the headaches of running their business just got easier since they have to deal with a tenant who has stopped paying rent and all that that entails. JA Jance tells great stories with well-written plots but it’s his characters that keep me reading.

>> To buy



We believe vital information should be seen by those affected, whether it is a public health crisis, investigative reporting or holding lawmakers accountable. This report depends on the support of readers like you.



Source link

Comments are closed.